The Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance is accepting nominations through May 20th for the 2022 International Driver Excellence Award (IDEA), sponsored by PrePass Safety Alliance.

“This annual award recognizes individuals who go above and beyond the performance of their duties as a commercial vehicle driver, distinguishing themselves conspicuously and beyond the call of duty through the achievement of safe operation and compliance carried out with evident distinction for an extended period of time,” said CVSA.

IDEA is open to the entire commercial motor vehicle industry. You do not have to be a member of or affiliated with CVSA to apply.

Nominees must have:

  • At least 25 cumulative years of crash-free driving in a commercial motor vehicle with a clean driving record for the past three years
  • No felony convictions
  • No safety-related driving suspensions in the past three years
  • No driver violations in the past three years, excluding form and manner violations

The IDEA winner will receive:

  • A check for $2,500
  • A crystal trophy
  • Airfare for the winner and one guest to Rapid City, South Dakota, to receive their award
  • Two-night hotel stay in Rapid City

The IDEA winner will be presented with their award and receive public recognition at the CVSA Annual Conference and Exhibition in the fall. Announcement of the IDEA winner will be shared nationally through a press release, as well as on the CVSA website and through social media. A feature article on the award winner will run in CVSA’s quarterly magazine, “Guardian.”

This year, CVSA is accepting nominations and supporting documentation through an online nomination form.

CVSA is the leading organization that oversees the uniformity of commercial motor vehicle safety enforcement and regulatory compliance across Canada, Mexico, and the United States.

PrePass Safety Alliance, the provider of PrePass weigh station bypass, electronic toll payment management, and other services, has sponsored IDEA since the honor was first handed out in 2015. You can read about all of the previous winners here.