List of State Truck Idling Regulations Now Available
A group known for its research into trucking and other transportation issues has updated its online database of state truck idling regulations with the addition of two more cities.
The American Transportation Research Institute added San Antonio and Ann Arbor to this online compendium that you can download, providing detailed information and internet links to each of the 60 state and local regulations it identified.
San Antonio joined the growing number of Texas cities and counties that implemented a five-minute idling limit.
Exemptions include hours-of-service compliance beyond two miles of facilities with available external heat or air connections and trucks with “certified clean idle” engines. These are typically engines from the 2008 model year or later that are equipped with diesel particulate filters, commonly known as DPFs. Various states recognize the “certified clean idle” label including Texas, California, Pennsylvania and West Virginia.
The new limit went into effect on Jan. 1, 2017 with fines up to $500 for violators.
Meantime, Ann Arbor, Michigan will implement a new five-minute limit beginning on July 1, 2017.
The rules provide exemptions for rest or sleep breaks beyond 25 miles of available truck stop electrification or shore power, or when the outside temperature is less than 32 degrees or greater than 85 degrees, and a temperature-controlled area is not accessible.
Violations may result in a minimum fine of $500.
The information from the ATRI website can also be downloaded in a “cab card” form, making it easy for drivers to print it out and have readily available when they park, so they can avoid violations and fines.
ATRI said it will continue to monitor the development of truck idling regulations across the country.